Principal Investigator

Zhicheng Dou, Ph.D.

2002              B.S.             Fudan University, Shanghai, China

2009              Ph.D.          University of Southern Mississippi

2015              Postdoc      University of Michigan Medical School

Phone: 864-656-2460


Postdoctoral Fellow

Dr. Vikky FNU

Graduate Students

Melanie Key, B.S.

Ph.D. Candidate

2018 B.S. Auburn University

Dalton Kessans

2021 B.S. University of North Carolina, Charlotte

lab photo 20170727

Figure 1. Farewell party for Paige Teehan on July, 27th, 2017, the former lab technician. From left to right, Zhicheng, Amy, Tanner, Paige, Katherine, Carly, and Brock.

Figure 2. Painting to celebrate Katherine’s internship at UT Southwestern. From left to right, Brock, Amy, Chiara, Melanie, and Katherine.


  1. Paige Teehan, lab technician (2015-2017). She joined the graduate program at Penn State University to pursue her Ph.D. degree in July 2017.
  2. Davis Osborn, undergraduate researcher (2016-2017). He will join the MD program at Medical University of South Carolina.
  3. Alex Villano, undergraduate researcher and lab assistant (2016). She is pursing her MBA degree at Clemson.
  4. Andrew Dippre, undergraduate researcher (2015-2016). He is a program assistant in the Department of Neurosurgery at Medical University of South Carolina.
  5. Jessica Krefski (2017) Senior, major in microbiology at Clemson University
  6. Carly Dameron, Graduate Student
  7. Christian Cochrane, Undergraduate researcher (2017-2019) He will pursue his D.O. at VCOM in Spartanburg, SC.
  8. Sophie Millard, Ph.D Fall Rotation (2019). She is pursuing her Ph.D at Clemson University.
  9. Maria Kubaszewska, Undergraduate researcher (2020), Exchange student from University of Aberdeen in Scotland.
  10. Katherine Floyd – Undergraduate researcher (2017-2020), major in biochemistry and microbiology. She joined the Ph.D. program at Washington University School of Medicine in August 2020.
  11.  Claire Fortman -Undergraduate researcher (2019-2021), major in microbiology.
  12. Chiara Micchelli – Undergraduate researcher (2019-2021), major in microbiology. She accepted a NIH postbaccalaureate intramural research training award in August 2021.
  13. Grace Vaughan-Undergraduate researcher (2019-2021), major in microbiology.  She joined the Medical Laboratory Scientist program at Lexington Medical Center in Columbia, SC.
  14. Dr. Yu Ning – Postdoctoral fellow (2020-2021).
  15. Dr. L. Brock Thornton – Ph.D. student in microbiology program (2017-2022).
  16. Amy Bergmann, former lab manager (2017-2022).